Quincunx (Injunct): Explained!

A quincunx aspect, also known as an inconjunct, occurs when two planets are 150° degrees apart from each other. In simpler words, they are 5 Houses apart. 


The quincunx symbol has one horizontal line, with an upside-down “V” coming from the bottom of it. In general, it looks similar to a coffee table. 

Signs in quincunx 

  • Aries: Virgo, SCORPIO
  • Gemini: Scorpio, CAPRICORN
  • Cancer: Sagittarius, AQUARIUS
  • Leo: Capricorn, PISCES
  • Virgo: Aquarius, Aries 
  • Libra: Pisces, Taurus 
  • Scorpio: Aries, GEMINI
  • Sagittarius: Taurus, CANCER
  • Capricorn: Gemini. LEO
  • Aquarius: Cancer, Virgo 
  • Pisces: Leo, Libra 


In astrology, an inconjunct is considered a “hard aspect,” as the two zodiac signs do not get along with each other. When two transiting planets form an inconjunct, both planets are not only in different elements, but they are also in two different modalities. So, when these signs get together, they just can’t understand each other and need some time to adjust. 


When a quincunx shows up in a synastry or relationship reading, this can make for a tense or difficult relationship, especially if there are numerous inconjunctions going on. 

A quincunx in a relationship reading means that you’ll have trouble finding common ground in these specified areas. You may find that most of your conflicts come from this area. If you have many quincunxes, it could be difficult to create a positive connection because you just can’t seem to agree on anything.