Polarity: Meaning and Opposite Signs

“Polarity” in simple terms means “opposite”. There are 12 signs in astrology, meaning there are 6 polarities. A polarity is a special relationship between two signs that are opposed to each other on the zodiac wheel.

Opposite Signs

  • Aries and Libra
  • Taurus and Scorpio
  • Gemini and Sagittarius
  • Cancer and Capricorn
  • Leo and Aquarius
  • Virgo and Pisces

At first glance, Polarities don’t seem to have too much in common, however,  when you take a deeper look at the polarities, you might find more in common than you’d expect.

For example, for Aries, it’s about the relationship you have with yourself. However, you can’t define who you are without looking at other people as a mirror. And the same is true in reverse: Libra is actually a master at leadership and getting their own way, which people usually think is an Aries speciality. However, Libra takes the initiative in such a way that others don’t realise the initiative has been taken.

Polarity and Elements

The way to distinguish what each zodiac sign’s polarity might be is to first take a look at the elements. Every zodiac sign fits under one of the ruling elements: fire, air, water, and earth.

Fire and air are considered the lightest elements because they tend to move upwards, while water and earth are the heavier elements because they tend to sink downwards. The polarity between signs always occurs in either the lighter elements or the heavier elements. For example, as a fire sign, Leo must be paired with an air sign: Aquarius. Another example might be Taurus (earth) and Scorpio (water).

Elements and Yin-Yang Astrology

One thing to keep in mind is the masculine and feminine qualities of the elements. The “lighter” elements refer to (fire and air) and are considered the masculine-Yang zodiac signs. The “heavier” elements refer to (water and earth) and are regarded as feminine-Yin zodiac signs.

Yin Zodiac Signs

  • Cancer
  • Scorpio
  • Pisces
  • Capricorn
  • Taurus
  • Virgo

Yang Zodiac Signs

  • Aries
  • Leo
  • Sagittarius
  • Libra
  • Aquarius
  • Gemini

Polarity Compatibility

As in life, opposites attract here as well. Even though these signs appear to have dissimilarities, it’s those disparities that really bring them together. The polarities between signs could be considered a cosmic glue that keeps people interested in one another. The more polarities you find in a love compatibility synastry chart, the more likely it is that you’ve found your twin flame.